RSS Feed

This is the day…

Today has been a long one.  For me.  For the girls.  Especially for my Beautiful Bride!  I’m tired just remembering it all!  🙂

“Day in the life” posts aren’t the norm around here.  But I think there’s some spiritual insight worth sharing along with, so here goes:  Ran over a bike first thing this morn.  Oldest left it right behind my van!  (Yeah, I’m cool enough to drive a van!)  Not a happy Dad, but no time to dole out the proper punishment cause I was running late for church.  Same daughter decided to go to “Neighbor Boy’s” house for breakfast (yes, that Neighbor Boy!).  Only she didn’t ask for permission.  Her mother assumed she had gone to church with me; I had told her to go back in the house to Mom.  Brief moment of panic when I returned home and we realized we had “lost” a child.

Find her, scold her, load her in Mom’s van so we can drive the 45 mins. to a different worship service where I’m scheduled to speak.  Really encouraging service, and then off to lunch at Grandmother’s.  What a special thing that my little family can spend time with my grandparents who are both in their 80’s!  But it did mean almost an hour of driving home mid-afternoon only to load right back up and head to the talent show.  (with a quick meeting somehow squeezed in between)

Middle child and I were asked to sing a song; one I had written and she loves to help me sing.  So we did.  Which means my wife went “above and beyond” to support me when I spoke this morn, and J when she sang tonight.  But I could tell she was really worn out and I encouraged her to go home after J’s performance and get some rest.  Leaving me at the mercy of someone else for a ride home.  Someone who couldn’t leave talent show/church for another couple hours.  Oh man, it was a long day!

But on the way home, my “taxi driver” really needed to talk about some things going on in his life.  And I realized that a verse I had read in worship earlier today was being lived out nearly 12 hours later…even if I’m being poured out as an offering for the sacrifice and service of your faith, I am glad and rejoice*…Poured out.”  I felt that when parenting today.  I saw that in my wife today.  I lived that in “church life” today.  And at the end of the day, hopefully I will join Paul in being glad and rejoicing for the chance to pour my life out if it helps others grow closer to Christ.

This is the day…the day the Lord has made!  I will rejoice.  I will be glad.

* Philippians 2:17


31 responses »

  1. Sorry your day (weekend) was so long, sweetie. I hope you get some much-needed rest tonight. This is another great message; thanks for sharing your wisdom.

    Reply
  2. Your day makes me think of days when I would work extra hard and maybe longer hours, and at the end of the day, be totally exausted. I remember saying how tired I was, followed by, “But it’s a good tired.” It was good, because I did my best, gave my all, and accomplished something worthwhile.
    I can see you falling into your favorite chair–or onto the bed–with a tired smile on your face, and saying the same thing I used to say.
    When you get right down to it, every day is a great day, and even when we’re wore out from the work, strife, accomplishments, or even sometimes the fun, of every day, we should put on that tired smile and say, “Thank you, Jesus!”
    Because, when you work for HIm, it’s all good!
    Great post, my man!
    I was wore out yesterday, too, but I’ll tell the story about why in a post later this week. In the meantime, I’ll be posting all the good stuff! http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/04/29/the-fayette-creature/

    Reply
  3. This was SOOO needed today. After recently spending 2 weeks at the children’s hospital with my son, my special friend collapsed this weekend — pneumonia and an abscess in his gut that was close to ending his life. I spent the weekend in the critical care unit. I feel like I’m pouring out til there is nothing left. But the verse you quoted has renewed me. I am reminded that I am not doing these works for others, but for the LORD. Thank you. God always sends the right words at the right moment!

    Reply
    • I will lift up prayers for you, your son, and your friend. So sorry to hear about the heaviness of these past few weeks, but thankful that God did send the right words your way. Thank you for your kind words and the reminder that it does sometimes matter, the words that get posted on this blog. Praying now!

      Reply
  4. What a blessing it is to know that through it all Jesus is by our side. The past few weeks for me have been weeks of prayer also, with a family member who had a heart attack followed by a stroke and then the discovery that he has a hole in his heart. But he is now home from the hospital and doing well. God is so good. Blessings to you my friend and I hope your week is great!
    Joy

    Reply
  5. awesome story..I know it must have been a draining day..but tell me at the end of it you were not a little fulfilled (as well as tired :P)

    Reply
    • I was definitely fulfilled at the end of the day. And even today there is residual 🙂 I was perhaps more careful yesterday to discipline my oldest while still looking for opportunities to praise her throughout the day. She’s “too old” to hug & kiss her Daddy these days, but today, out of the blue, she did just that! So, yep! There are many reasons to be fulfilled 🙂

      Reply
  6. We all have these days and somehow we make it through — but it is fun to think, “I am sooo going to write about this day! It has to be remembered.” We are all here listening and taking it in. We got your back!

    Reply
    • LOL….you are so right! When I got home last night & sunk into the recliner, I knew exactly what I would be doing in order to “decompress” from the events of the day. So glad we all have each others backs! This “sphere” of blogging is such a neat community!

      Thanks for the comments & encouragement.

      Reply
  7. One of my favorite hymns. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  8. God bless you and thank you so much for sharing.

    Great post!! I am learning the delicate art of balancing the ‘no’ against the ‘need’, but the trees so often block my view of the forest 😉 So happy that you were cued in to Papa so he could provide an ear for your friend on that ride home… sometimes He shuffles the deck mid-game, but we are assured that all His cards are good ones 🙂

    May you experience times of refreshing over and over again as you allow yourself to be used to bless others to the glory of His name.

    Trusting His timing,
    ann

    Reply
  9. Great post! Very uplifting! I particularly like when you said we should help others grow closer with Christ. I have a friend from Greece I’ve become close with because we always give each other words of encouragement, as well as share our love for God. If you always put Christ in your relationship with others, you’ll have a stronger bond. Oh! And I just love reading about your daughter and her “little” adventures. I’m sorry… but I’m really looking forward to more stories about her. 🙂

    Reply
  10. rosemary mint

    Are you going to post something new today to tell all your readers happy May Day?! We made May Day cupcakes with blue (water, sky), green (grass, plants), and yellow (sun, flowers) icing.

    Reply
  11. Hearing the performance of the song must’ve been a highlight!

    Such busy lives. Make sure to hug you rloved ones at leat THREE times a day, each, amisdst all you must do!! Makes it all worthwhile.

    Reply
  12. Just popping by to look for a new post. 🙂

    I just wanted to let you know I was here. Hee hee.

    Reply
  13. How very inspiring! I’m happy you have enough to “pour out” so that even I can be filled. For many, the vessels are empty and waiting. Others don’t even realise they have a vessel, LOL. May you be like Elijah, my friend 🙂 I’m always eager to read about your encounters and about your family. You are all in my prayers. I believe you are a wonderful role model and by God’s grace your daughter will follow your footsteps. I would have liked to hear your sermon 🙂

    This is my sleepy ramble so I may as well quit now. Have a truly blessed night 🙂

    Reply
  14. I don’t know how I missed this post. I just found the notification in my email. “Poured out…” Powerful phrase and aptly chosen for this story. It’s a good feeling when we can, even in our fatigue, notice how God is working in our lives and using us for another one of His children. Had you been more selfish and not told your wife to go home, you would have missed this opportunity. How sweet that you and your daughter sing together.

    Reply
  15. Psalms 118:24 . . . for years I signed everything with this tag included. 🙂 I always love seeing it.

    Reply
  16. purpleowltree1234

    Sometimes the things that really matter and are really meaningful in life, are found in the chaos…
    Rach.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

