RSS Feed

How to Get Freshly Pressed

Post a picture of a Volkswagon. Maybe several. They really seem to like the VW vans.

Here’s a really groovy VW van:

If that doesn’t work, make a post about a TV show. Especially one that appeals to twentysomethings. I watched the season finale of Justified tonight. It was great and “the bad guy” even hijacked a yellow VW van. Not sure that’s enough to get me “freshly pressed,” but it is a weird coincidence! πŸ™‚

Another good idea is to write about dating. More specifically describe in detail every horrible date you’ve had in the past week or two. And the more descriptive you are in running down some poor sap who was foolish enough to shell out a few bucks for your frappe or entree, the better your chances! I think a great many of my readers are beyond the “dating stage” of life, but you can always write a fictional account. Just be sure to make fun of the fake text messages your supposed admirer sent to you.

This week is my anniversary, and it just so happens I’m married to the most amazing woman in the world. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to start dating again (nor do I want to!). I’m tempted to post about the first two suggestions from time to time, but I’m just sharing this bit-o-wisdom to help the rest of you. πŸ™‚

39 responses »

  1. We have become a society dependent on extremes, on ever-changing days, on messing with the opposite sex. We are bored and always looking for more. Respect towards one another is dying. But we are thirsting for good without even knowing it. Keep posting, New View. Keep posting.

    Reply
    • I am so glad I’ve been out of the dating scene for the better part of the past decade. Doesn’t seem at all enjoyable in this day and age of facebook, twitter, & blogging. Some of the posts I’ve read about dating are incredibly mean-spirited. It doesn’t seem to take much to have someone of the opposite sex find cause to rip you apart and feel down-right giddy when doing so.

      I like the way you sum it up….”we’re bored and always looking for more.”

      Thanks for the encouragement to keep posting….having much fun thus far! πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • There is so much disrespect between the sexes and it’s disheartening, especially for men, I think. There is a tragic trend in our society that women don’t “need” men. My sarcastic response is that the feminists have achieved their goals of equality quite well; they are now everything they detested in men when it all started.

        Reply
    • wow. talk about hitting the nail on the head! If one can believe what the media is telling us, twenty-somethings seem so unsatisfied with life. always searching, but they don’t know what for.

      Reply
      • That God-shaped void is present in all of us, until we surrender to the love and redemption of Christ. Even then, we can be deceived into thinking we need more to make us “complete” somehow.

        Great comment….always appreciate your perspective!

        Reply
  2. Congratulations. πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • Oh, I didn’t make the “fresh pressed” page, but I am a sucker for being lured into reading some of them. Whether I read them or not though, I can’t help but notice the plethora of posts about dating & t.v. shows. And the VW’s have been staring at me for what seems like forever πŸ™‚ I mostly notice that b/c of the ugly orange & blue one…lol

      Reply
  3. “That’s just funny right there, I don’t care who ya are!” Mater, “Cars”.

    Reply
  4. love those vans. reminds me of my younger days

    Reply
  5. Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com

    Hey guys, the blog “Truth and Cake” made freshly pressed last week with; “What did you give up, to get what you got?” which was only the second post for the blogger. The post got over a thousand hits and 500+ comments withing days.

    Reply
  6. Happy Anniversary to you both! May blessings pour forth in new ways in your years to come!

    Reply
  7. PS… the VW’s stare at you because they are completely amazing πŸ™‚ We have wanted one for years…then came the layoff lol

    Reply
  8. Fabulous, great idea! And who doesn’t love camper vans?

    Reply
  9. My dream car is either a vintage Jaguar, or a cute Beatle Bug. For now, I’m thankful our ’97 Chrysler is still running.

    Reply
    • I can totally see you in a Bug! Convertible at that. πŸ™‚

      I think my wife would like one of those Beetle Bugs too…just not practical at this stage in life (financially or for transporting 3 babies)

      Reply
      • I sure wanted one when I was in college. Those babies are so cute (I’m talking about the cars, but so are our children).

        Reply
  10. I’d be surprised if this didn’t get you Freshly Pressed. You are so spot on about the topics though. Also throw in travel abroad to exotic locations and and other things the young’ins get to do with all that cash that’s not going towards a house payment, utility bills, the baby… ha!

    Reply
  11. Here’s a bit of a twist on your subject… Question: How not to get Freshly Pressed? Answer: Write a Christian blog. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  12. i hate to be critical on this one, BUT… you are missing a major detail on all your VW vans. I don’t see any smoke cloud coming from medicinal weed. You can’t get freshly pressed status with a major flaw like that..lol

    Reply
  13. Hmm, so that’s the secret, uh? Haha, I like your sense of humour πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. purpleowltree1234

    HAHAhahahhahaaaa! You’re plain hilarious! Try showing pictures of kittens and puppies too- Everyone likes them!! hahaha! I reckon you should do a regular post, like once a month or something, of blatantly trying to get Freshly Pressed! hahhaha! That would be so funny!! Kind of like your “About Me” page!! Gee you crack me up! hahahahhaa!
    Rach.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

