RSS Feed

“The King and I”

 
 
The King and I
 
Out for an evening stroll; napping is over,
there’s much plotting to be done.
 
Plotting for kingdoms and wars and
lesser things.
 
Things that arouse and excite, inciting
temptations that have ruined a stronger man.
 
Ruined little people too.
 
People like me.
 
 
An Explanation
This was written in response to “Free Write Friday.” The prompt today is to write about an affair, from a “fly on the wall” perspective. I’m not sure that I “nailed” the perspective, but my hope was to at least capture the destruction caused when people abandon those sacred vows. My inspiration was the story of David and Bathsheba.
 
photo
28 responses »

  1. Love the picture!

    Reply
    • Yeah, that one cracked me up…great example of “consequence.”

      Of course, my wife suggested the guy should have painted “she was” in big, bold letters underneath…even if she wasn’t…lol….I’m beginning to wonder if I should be worried!

      Reply
      • Oh come on, you know it would be funny. 🙂

        You just don’t mess with a guy’s car! LOL.

        [I know, I know. You shouldn’t mess with his, ahem, “other stuff” either.]

        Reply
      • You might want to watch out!

        Question…
        I’m trying to figure out the do’s and don’ts of posting pictures in my blog. Did you take that picture? Where do you find photos and credit sources if you don’t mind me asking.

        Reply
        • I’ll let the experts answer that question 🙂 I don’t really know how to upload a pic on here…I always get my wife to do it. I think she links back to where it’s found to provide the “source.”

          If it helps, most pics on this blog are found at “weheartit.com”

          Reply
        • Brian (one of the other poets) says a lot of bloggers are being fined for using photos without authorization. So you do have to be careful. I currently use images from weheartit.com. I link the photo back to its page on the site, and I’ve also started including a link at the bottom of the blog post. Brian uses “creative commons” images, wherever you find those.

          Reply
  2. I think you hit the nail on the head! I liked the message!

    Reply
  3. “temptations that have ruined a stronger man.”

    we would all be just fine without temptation. (says eve)

    lovely take. thank you for playing FWF. So happy to have you participate. Hope you will join me again next week! 🙂

    Reply
    • whew…you gave us a challenging prompt this week for sure! I had to think really hard about how to tackle the prompt, but the inspiration actually came quickly.

      Really appreciative of you, Shawna, Brian, Claudia and others who encourage me and others to be creative in new ways each week.

      Reply
      • My pleasure! Everyone should take advantage of their muse and use her as often as possible. It is so healing and therapeutic! Never stop writing! And thank you again for joining me! happy you enjoyed the prompt!

        Reply
  4. I love this short and not-so-sweet poem. It was really smart to leave out the pronouns so that the speaker’s identity remains open for interpretation.

    The title is cute. 🙂 The last line is awesome and really hits hard. But my favorite is “Ruined little people too.” I immediately think of the way children are inevitably hurt by affairs and often divorce. “Little” could mean small in height, age, importance, gender, status, respect, self-respect, etc. Great line.

    Off to get ready for our date!

    Reply
    • Who needs affairs when you can have hot dates with a hot wife?!?

      I thought the “little people” line was strongest as well, especially with how an affair and it’s consequences can affect children.

      Great comment…thanks!

      Reply
      • Most people familiar with the David and Bathsheba story stop with the adultery. But there was a little person who didn’t make it, that loss adding to the already heavy guilt and sorrow.

        Reply
        • You are so right…and there were other consequences as well! Thank you so much for your visit and comment!

          Reply
        • What an excellent reminder. But then again, there was another little one who DID make it. Some know him as King Solomon. Perhaps he is the speaker in this poem.

          “The Hebrew Bible credits Solomon as the builder of the First Temple in Jerusalem, and portrays him as great in wisdom, wealth, and power, but ultimately as a king whose sin, including idolatry and turning away from Yahweh, leads to the kingdom being torn in two during the reign of his son Rehoboam.”

          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solomon

          Reply
          • Solomon did have a lot to say a lot about the dangers of adultery…perhaps you’re right and he is the speaker.

          • Speaking of Solomon, this poem reminds me strongly of Proverbs 7:8-10: “He was going down the street near her corner, walking along in the direction of her house at twilight, as the day was fading, as the dark of night set in. Then out came a woman to meet him, dressed like a prostitute and with crafty intent.” Yeah, I would say Solomon had an opinion on the subject…

  5. most def temptations have ruined many a man…devious too in the plotting of such things you know…and any one is succeptible…

    Reply
  6. Great stuff and like the picture!

    Reply
  7. temptations have ruined a stronger man – you think?

    anything but

    Reply
    • lol…yep I think 🙂 In fact I know….and I should probably put the “sad face” emoticon here because of how well I know!

      The man I was thinking of was Samson…man of incredible strength according to Scripture…physically strong and blessed with God’s Spirit…but made weak when he yielded to temptation….

      What’s true for Samson is so very true for all the rest of us…thanks for stopping by and sharing…look forward to checking out your latest work!

      Reply
  8. so sad–the results of that sin…yes, God does turn our ashes into beauty as we allow Him the tools for molding and shaping us into His beauty, but the suffering and sting of sin–it touches so many more people than just the two parties…and those consequences can last a lifetime…children without fathers, broken homes, hearts that become brittle and broken…thank you for sharing this

    Reply
  9. I like your choice and use of words…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

